Cleaning + Purging Before You Move

If you’re anything like me, having a handy to-do list can be helpful, and overwhelming at the same time.
I’ve moved 4 times in the last 4 years, and every time I make a to-do list. And then I get overwhelmed and avoid it like that one ex you can’t stand to see. I want to look, so I can be updated on their status, but I’m scared that looking will force me to have to come to terms with what I need: closure.

20071126-todo-list

 

There’s another reason I’m scared of creating a to-do list for moving. Reality begins to set in that I will no longer be living in this place, and where I’m going is unfamiliar to me. Change isn’t always easy. But it’s also one of the best times to clean house and purge your life and home of things you no longer want (and maybe never wanted at all).

As a frequent reader of all things Danielle LaPorte, the first thought that pops into my head while preparing for our move is, how do I want to feel??

So, I made a list of feelings I want to experience while I’m packing, cleaning, and purging:

I want to feel:

  • Peace – freedom from or the cessation of war or violence; freedom from disturbance; quiet and tranquility.
  • Excited – very enthusiastic and eager; of or in an energy state higher than the normal or ground state
  • Stable – firmly established
  • Inspired – of extraordinary quality, as if arising from some external creative impulse; (of air or another substance) that is breathed in.
  • Pure – without any extraneous and unnecessary elements.
  • Abundant – existing or available in large quantities; plentiful; having plenty of something.
  • Purged – to free someone from (an unwanted feeling, memory, or condition)

I then starting thinking about what I could do to feel this way; what tasks would make me feel pure and abundant? What tasks would make me feel inspired enough to keep going, and crossing things off my to-do list?

And this is what I came up with:

  • Cleaning the bathroom – peace
  • Throwing/giving away old clothes – purged/abundant
  • Organizing my files – stable
  • Cleaning out my blue and clear drawers – purged
  • Washing all of my clothes – pure
  • Helping the boys clean their room – stable/excited
  • Packing up my fall/winter clothes – pure

Just looking at that list makes my heartbeat slow down and the corners of my mouth turn up.
I’m not seeking to overachieve, or get a gold star for being the “Best Step-Mom Ever!” I’m not trying to impress my friends, readers, or even myself.
I’m just doing what makes me feel good.

All is well.

I am not overwhelmed. I know what I need to do over the next seven days.

I am at peace.

Enjoyed this post? Well, why don’t you just go on over to the right and enter in your email address for some goodies?

Subscribe to Ivey Jones Designs by Email

2 thoughts on “Cleaning + Purging Before You Move

Leave a Reply

