I am not a tree.

If you don't like where you are...

I was going to leave this post as just a picture, yet I couldn’t help but be drawn back to the words, and how much they relate to being a
creator. During the last few days I’ve been reflecting on what it means to really show up in my life. And by “show up” I mean living a life that is full of purpose, and letting that translate into my work.

Sometimes, that work is doing something for someone who may not really appreciate the energy you’ve put into completing the task. Other times, it could be stepping outside of your normal duties and going the extra mile for someone who will appreciate the work, but might not be able to compensate you the way you should be.

I always want to make sure that my creativity is not only a reflection of who I am today, but the woman I know I’m meant to be. And if that means that I must stay up all night to get the job done, it’s worth it. That’s not about everything, truthfully. If I were to do that, I would be exhausted, useless, and without the energy to create.

And that’s the place I was in…until I decided to move.

There were no giant leaps, only small six inch shuffles. It felt like I wasn’t getting anywhere. Suddenly, the shuffles moved to steps, and steps to strides. I’m walking, with a nice rhythm. Every breath taken is followed by a piece of art. From a sneeze to a fried egg, I’m creating something new, different improved–and honest.

I can’t help but to tell myself this morning…

“If you don’t like where you are, move. You are not a tree.”

Leave a Reply

